By: Brian Hardie and Nick Roque and Josh Linson

Red is hardiness and valor, White is purity and innocence, and Blue is vigilance, perseverance, and justice! A flag as old as a country; a symbol that never seems to fade. The US Flag has a proud history and many traditions, some even more complex than a Japanese tea ceremony. But regardless of where it started, every citizen holds at least some amount of pride and admiration for the Stars and Stripes!


Our flag has had many faces over the years, a star for every state, 13 stripes for the founding colonies, and the good old red, white, and blue for it colors. However no one knows its complete origin, legends say it was Betsy Ross, others say Francis Hopkinson.


The U.S. flag should always be treated with utmost care and respect.

• never display the flag upside down, except as a distress signal.

• never let the flag touch anything beneath it such as the ground, the floor, or any water.

• never carry the flag horizontally.

• always keep the flag clean; never let it become torn, soiled, or damaged.

• always dispose of a flag properly, usually by burning it

Folding the Flag

Step 1:  To properly fold begin by holding it waist high with another person so that it’s surface is parallel to the ground.

Step 2:  Fold the lower half of the stripe section lengthwise over the field of stars holding the bottom and top.

Step 3:  Fold the flag again length wise with the blue field on the outside.

Step 4: Make a triangular fold by bringing the striped corner of the folded edge to meet the outer edge.

Step 5: Turn the outer end point inward parallel to the open edge to form a second triangle.

Step 6: The triangular folding is continued until the entire length of the flag is folded in this manner.

Step 7: When the flag is completely folded a triangular blue field of stars should be visible.

Meanings Behind the Folds

The 1st fold of our flag is a symbol of life.


The 2nd fold is the symbol of our belief in eternal life.


The 3rd fold is made in honor and remembrance of the veterans who gave a portion of their lives in defense of our country.


The 4th fold represents our weaker nature for as American citizens trusting god it is to him we turn in times of peace as well as in time of war for his divine guidance.


The 5th fold is a tribute to our country.


The 6th fold for where our hearts lie. It is with our heart that we pledge allegiance to the flag.


The 7th fold is the tribute to our Armed Forces.


The 8th fold is a tribute to the one who entered into the valley of the shadows of death, that we might see the light of day.


The 9th fold is a tribute to womanhood, and mothers.


The 10th fold is a tribute to the father.


The 11th fold represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon and glorifies in Hebrews eyes, god of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.


The 12th fold represents an emblem of eternity and glorifies, in Christians eyes, God the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.


The 13th fold or when the flag is completely folded the stars are uppermost reminding us of our nation’s motto, “In God We Trust.” After the flag is completely folded and tucked in it takes on the appearance of a cocked hat, ever reminding us of the soldiers who served under General George Washington, and the sailors and marines who served under Captain John Paul Jones.


Click here to see video!

Leave a Comment